National Sustainability Conference 2019

The annual National Sustainability Conference will be held at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane on Monday 1 – Tuesday 2 April 2019. The educational program will include sustainability research, participation from diverse industry sectors and topics of integration, technology, automation, climate risk, procurement, renewable energy and sustainable construction. The conference will be looking at current topics and also looking forward to emerging sustainability considerations.

We invite you to join the discussion on the current challenges, successes and what the future holds in regard to sustainability practices within business. The conference has a wide reach from corporations to small business and all levels of government and provides the opportunity to network and learn on what impacts successful integration, why sustainability planning is important and how to be a positive influencer in regard to the financial benefits to the business. The conference is in its third year and we look forward to hearing from industry leaders, researchers and businesses that have established sustainability practices or at the start of implementation of their sustainability journey and anywhere in between to provide insight and learnings.


ACCESS future thinking and expert guidance with a 2 day educational program

LEARN new frameworks and skills that can be implemented in your organisation

EXPERIENCE incredible networking opportunities and make those important connections

ASK questions, challenge thinking and help your business grow

JOIN a community of change makers working to build a better world

Register NOW

Submit an Abstract


Featured Speakers 2019

  • Dr Jennifer Burn, Director and Professor, Anti-Slavery Australia and UTS
  • Mr John O’Brien, Partner, Energy, Resources & Industrials, Deloitte Financial Advisory Pty
  • Ms Elke Lindner, Manager – Sustainability & Environment, Toyota Motor Corporation Australia Ltd
  • Mr Richard Smith, Director Safety, Quality & Sustainability, Amcor Flexibles Asia Pacific – ANZ


  • Ms Megan Flynn, Manager, Environment & Carbon Strategy, Qantas Group
  • Mr Andrew Sellick, Head of Environmental Sustainability, Australia Post
  • Mr David Martin, Co-founder & Managing Director, Power Ledger
  • Ms Peta Granger, Director, Lush, Australasia
  • Mr Jackson Gerard, Director – Biofuel & Hydrogen Investment, Manufacturing and Industry Development, Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning, Queensland Government

Conference Program Committee

  • Mr David Malicki, Senior Team Leader, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage – Conference Chair
  • Mr Damien Giurco, Professor Resource Futures, University of Technology Sydney
  • Ms Natalia McGregor, Environment & Sustainability Specialist
  • Mr Phil Link, Managing Director, Energy Link Services
  • Mr Alistair Coulstock, Director, Action Sustainability
  • Dr Rob Hales, Director, Griffith Centre for Sustainable, Griffith Business School, Griffith University

Important Dates

  • Abstracts Close: Monday 19 November 2018
  • Notification to Authors: Monday 26 November 2018
  • Author Acceptances Due: Friday 7 December 2018
  • Draft Program Available: Tuesday 11 December 2018
  • Early Bird Registration Closes: Friday 15 February 2019


Who Should Attend

Local and State Government: Mayor, Councillors, Sustainability Project Officer, Sustainability Initiatives Manager, Economy and Sustainability Coordinator, Sustainability Program Leader, Building Services, Regional Development Officer
Federal Government: Sustainable Futures Manager, Economic Development Officer, Sustainability and Public Policy General Manager, Environmental Policy and Planning, Principal Sustainability Manager, Senior Policy Officer
Corporate: CEO, Director, Principal, Consultant, Environment and Sustainability Manager, Senior Sustainability Advisor, Environmental Advisor, Head of Sustainability, Business Development Manager, Building Technology Director, Strategist
Community: Project Manager, Environmental Sustainability Manager, Program Engagement Consultant, Sustainable Business Manager
Academic: Adjunct Professor, Researcher, Business Studies Leader, Environmental Consultant, Sustainability Project Officer, Sustainability Officer

Delegate State of Origin

  • QLD 37%
  • NSW 21%
  • VIC 19%
  • ACT 6%
  • SA 6%
  • WA 4%
  • TAS 4%
  • NZ 2%

Conference Starts in

The Conference Committee would like to thank the Featured Speakers of 2018

  • Ms Katrina Donaghy, Business Development Lead and Co-Founder, Civic Ledger
  • Dr Helen Lewis, Adjunct Professor, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney & Environmental Consultant, Helen Lewis Research
  • Mr Chris Nunn, Head of Sustainability, Real Estate, AMP Capital
  • Mr Tony Roberts, Deputy Director-General, Environmental Policy and Planning, Department of Environment and Heritage Protection
  • Ms Kate Wakeling, State Community Manager – Queensland, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited
  • Ms Simone Looi-Britton, Sustainability & Public Policy General Manager, Veolia Australia and New Zealand
  • Mr Jon Westover, Managing Director – Global Operations, Jurlique International
  • Dr Kate Ringvall, Sustainability Manager, IKEA Australia
  • Ms Emma Herd, CEO, Investor Group for Climate Change

The Association for Sustainability in Business

Our ambition is to develop a vision of designing and planning Urban, Regional and Remote Australia while being aware of one planet living, one world resources and ongoing community and business sustainability.

2018 Featured Speaker Podcasts

Rethinking Sustainability to Enable a Circular Economy (Or to Resource the World)

Ms Simone Looi-Britton, Sustainability & Public Policy General Manager, Veolia Australia and New Zealand

Queensland’s Journey Towards ZNE 2050

Mr Tony Roberts, Deputy Director-General, Environmental Policy and Planning Department of Environment and Heritage Protection

The Business Case for Packaging Sustainability

Dr Helen Lewis, Adjunct Professor & Environmental Consultant, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney